API certification process

APIs and API standards
API is the English abbreviation of American Petroleum Institute. Founded in 1919, API is the first national business association in the United States. An important task of API is to be responsible for the standardization of equipment used in the oil and gas industry to ensure the safety, reliability and interchangeability of equipment used in the industry.
Generally, API standards are reviewed, revised, reconfirmed, or withdrawn at least once every 5 years. Sometimes the review period can be extended once, but not longer than 2 years. Therefore, with the exception of the authorized renewal extension, the API standard will no longer be valid after 5 years from the date of publication.
The standards are divided into three categories:
1. Design and manufacturing specifications of petroleum equipment;
2. Recommended practices for the use and maintenance of petroleum equipment;
3. Recommended practices for drilling and oil production operations.
Currently, API has published 54 product specifications that have been used for API product certification.
API standardization policy
The publication of the American Petroleum Institute's specifications is beneficial to the procurement of standardized materials and equipment, and also provides guidance for manufacturers to produce materials or equipment that meet the corresponding specifications of the Association. These specifications are not intended to line up the need for good technology, nor do they in any way prevent anyone from buying products that meet other specifications.
The formulation and publication of API specifications and API quality outline specifications are not intended to restrict buyers from purchasing products from manufacturers who are not authorized to use the API monogram.
API specifications are available to anyone who is willing to implement them. The Association has made unremitting efforts to ensure the accuracy and reliability of its normative data. However, the Association does not express any guarantee or guarantee for the publication of any API specification, and declares that API shall not be liable for any liability or liability arising from loss or damage caused by the use of the API specification.
Manufacturers marked with an API specification on their own equipment or materials are responsible for complying with all the provisions of that specification. However, API does not make any representations, guarantees, and guarantees as to whether its products are indeed in compliance with the corresponding API specifications.
Classification of API standards
The API standard is divided into two categories and three categories
1. System certification The company establishes and maintains a modern quality management system based on ISO9001 (the United States National Recommended Standard API spee Q1-2003 Seventh Edition Petroleum Quality, Petrochemical and Natural Gas Industry Quality Outline Specification). Requirements: System certification is in accordance with ISOQ1 requirements.
2. Logo certification Classification by product category, more than 800 varieties in three major categories, participate in the standard catalog.
a. Petroleum equipment design and manufacturing specifications
b. Recommended practices for the use and maintenance of petroleum equipment
c. Recommended practices for drilling and production operations
Generally, API standards are reviewed, revised, reconfirmed, or withdrawn at least once every 5 years. Sometimes the review period can be extended once, but not longer than 2 years.
Fourth, API certification and its significance
1.API Monogram
The API monogram is the Institute logo of the American Petroleum Institute. The sign is registered in the United States and may not be used by anyone without permission.
API forensics
API forensics needs to go through a process of application, inspection, and confirmation.
a. Manufacturer application:
b. API certificate agreement
c. Forensic Information Form
d. Quality Manual
e. Non-refundable application fee
The API forensics process has two steps: In the first step, the API quality program staff will follow the APIQI specification requirements and the API product specification requirements you intend to apply for. Review your quality manual. In the second step, after the quality manual is approved, API will arrange an on-site review when the manufacturer and the API are convenient.
The API staff shall decide whether to issue a certificate based on the objective basis obtained during the review to verify compliance with the API quality standards. Some APIs grant certificates to manufacturers whose product technology vendors comply with the API product specifications and the quality assurance system meets the API quality outline specifications, allowing manufacturers to use the API monogram mark on their products. The essence of API forensics is the authorization of trademark transfer.
3.API's description of the monogram
(1) Only awarded to manufacturers certified by API
(2) Not a guarantee to the manufacturer
(3) Not agree with design
(4) Not a guarantee for the product
(5) The manufacturer guarantees that each of the confirmed products conforms to the API specifications at the time of manufacture
(6) API acknowledges that manufacturers are trusted by APIs in complying with established API standards